Welcome


This is the One Minute Review!


Father Thomas McKenzie has retired from the One Minute Review, but you can still watch all his reviews right here. No spoilers, and no babbling on and on. Just a quick, entertaining, and honest assessment from a guy who loves movies and knows what to look for. About to download a movie? Let the One Minute Review save you some time and money.

Dec 30, 2012

Les Miserables

This is the One Minute Review of Les Miserables.  Do you hear the people sing?  Do you hear them sing well?  Two totally different questions.  Fr. Thomas McKenzie, a self-proclaimed "theater person," has been to the movies and can answer all your questions.  At least the basic questions about Jean Valjean & Co.  



One Minute Review: Les Miserables from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Dec 20, 2012

The Hobbit, An Unexpected Journey

This is extra-long One Minute Review of the extra-long Hobbit movie.  Both are self-indulgent and filled with more content than you need.  That's called being "meta."


One Minute Review: The Hobbit, an Unexpected Journey from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Dec 9, 2012

Life of Pi


This is the One Minute Review of Ang Lee's "Life of Pi." A boy, a boat, a tiger, and a confused understanding of God. Does it make for good theology, a good story, both, or neither? Fr. Thomas McKenzie has an opinion, if not all the answers.


One Minute Review: Life of Pi from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Dec 8, 2012

Anna Karenina


Joe Wright and Keira Knightley are back together for the 50,000th film version of Tolstoy's great novel of love, marriage and morality. The One Minute Review has been to the theater and has returned with three minutes of thoughts. Thinking of seeing this film, spend a few minutes with Fr. Thomas McKenzie first.



One Minute Review: Anna Karenina from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 27, 2012

Lincoln

This is the One Minute Review of Lincoln. He's on the penny, he's got a monument, and now he's on the silver screen. Is this newest Abe made out of flesh and blood, or is he stone and metal?


One Minute Review: Lincoln from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 25, 2012

Flight

Denzel Washington and Robert Zemeckis team up for a story about an alcohol-washed, coked-up, over-sexed pilot.  Throw in some references to Jesus, the 12 steps, and a hooker with a heart of gold and you get a surprisingly fascinating film.  Let Thomas McKenzie of the One Minute Review give you the low down.




One Minute Review: Flight from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 9, 2012

Skyfall

The latest James Bond movie has hit theaters. Should you expect a Goldfinger triumph, or a Moonraker train wreck? Thomas McKenzie of the One Minute Review knows for sure.


One Minute Review: Skyfall from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 8, 2012

Cloud Atlas

Six stories, six groups of six characters, all forming a tapestry that interweaves across time and space. A triumph, or a tragic six car pile up? Thomas McKenzie knows for sure.


One Minute Review: Cloud Atlas from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Oct 13, 2012

Argo

Ben Affleck takes us back to Iran in the time of the Revolution. Is it worth joining him on that trip? The One Minute Review knows.



One Minute Review: Argo from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Oct 12, 2012

Looper

My future self came back to review "Looper."  Then I killed him and made my own version.  Enjoy.


One Minute Review: Looper from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Oct 9, 2012

Taken 2

This is the One Minute Review of Taken 2. Liam Neeson has a particular set of skills, skills that allow him to have an long life as an action hero (even now at age 60). In 2008, he starred in the breakout "Taken." Now, both he and his character are back in Taken 2. Will the new one live up to the original? Is it nothing more than a crass money grab? Somewhere in between? Fr. Thomas McKenzie of the www.OneMinuteReview.com and RabbitRoom.com has the answers.

 
One Minute Review: Taken 2 from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Sep 30, 2012

The Master

P.T. Anderson, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Amy Adams, Joaquim Phoenix, addiction, insanity, and Scientology. What could go wrong? Thomas McKenzie of the One Minute Review gives you the scoop and saves you some time and money.


One Minute Review: The Master from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Robot & Frank

Robot & Frank is a film that you may not have heard of, but that you should probably see. Check out the One Minute Review, then see this funny little film.


One Minute Review: Robot & Frank from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Sep 5, 2012

Premium Rush

True Story: when I was in college I really wanted to be a bike messenger in NYC. Now I have the next best thing, a movie starring Joseph Gordon Levitt pedaling his way through my dream job. Gosh I hope this movie is better than it looks. Check the One Minute Review to see how great, or not great, it is.


One Minute Review: Premium Rush from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Sep 4, 2012

Lawless


This is the One Minute Review of Lawless, a movie about backwood moonshiners in the 1920s. With a stellar cast and the director of "The Proposition," what could possibly go wrong? Good question.



One Minute Review: Lawless from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 17, 2012

The Bourne Legacy

Jason Bourne is not back, but his name is. So, what's a Bourne movie without a Bourne like? The One Minute Review knows, and is here to save you some money.


One Minute Review: The Bourne Legacy from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

The Campaign

Should you go out and see the Campaign? It's got some very funny people in it! Maybe you should take a look at the One Minute Review first.


One Minute Review: the Campaign from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 15, 2012

Total Recall (2012)

Blue sky on Mars? Actually, no. This is the One Minute Review of Total Recall (2012). The one from "Original Films." Yes I saw it, and yes I reviewed it.

One Minute Review: Total Recall (2012) from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 3, 2012

Beasts of the Southern Wild

Thinking about spending a couple of hours on Beasts of the Southern Wild? Maybe you should spend three minutes on the One Minute Review first.

One Minute Review: Beasts of the Southern Wild from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 21, 2012

The Dark Knight Rises

Christopher Nolan's little trilogy of films comes to an end in The Dark Knight Rises. Many of us have been waiting a long time for this moment. Will we be satisfied?

Jul 18, 2012

The Amazing Spiderman

Is your spider sense tingling? The One Minute Review had the power to see the Amazing Spiderman, and now has the great responsibility to tell you all about it.

Jul 17, 2012

Moonrise Kingdom

Wes Anderson's newest movie has been given lot of advertising, but is still mainly showing in "art house" theaters. Thomas knows how to get to one of these places, and he saw Moonrise Kingdom. The One Minute Review is now available. Is it quirky? Find out.

Jun 24, 2012

Brave

If you have the chance to go see Brave, should ya? Once again, Thomas McKenzie braved the ferry system of the San Juan Islands so that you could get a One Minute Review of Brave. Is he a hero? No, but his daughters were glad to go along for the ride this time!


Jun 19, 2012

Prometheus

I'm on sabbatical on an island that has no real movie theater. It took a great deal of effort to see Prometheus, but I did it for you, the people. Behold, the OMR of Prometheus!

May 22, 2012

Battleship

 Another film based on a toy. Another blockbuster hit? The One Minute Review has seen Battleship and we can tell you if your will win or get your ship sunk.


May 21, 2012

The Dictator

Sacha Baron Cohen has made another "offensive, shocking" movie in which he plays an over-the-top character. Is it crazy? Is it funny? Thomas McKenzie did your dirty work for you, and the One Minute Review gives you the low down.


May 13, 2012

Dark Shadows

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp have joined up again, this time for Dark Shadows. Fr. Thomas McKenzie has visited the shadows for you, and he has returned with this One Minute Review. You might want to watch it before deciding to spend the time and money on the movie.

The Avengers

This is the the One Minute Review of The Avengers.  Enjoy!


Apr 22, 2012

Cabin in the Woods

Horror movies freak me out. But I'll see anything that Joss Whedon does. So here it is, the One Minute Review of Cabin in the Woods.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen is a little film getting  tons of buzz. And now it has its very own (extra long) One Minute Review. Have a look.


Apr 10, 2012

Blue Like Jazz

This is the One Minute Review of "Blue Like Jazz," the movie. How is Thomas going to review a film he actually helped (a tiny bit) to come into existence? Find out.

Mar 23, 2012

The Hunger Games

This is the One Minute Review of the Hunger Games. If you are a teenage girls, you're going to see this movie no matter what I say. But if there is any question in your mind, the One Minute Review is here to help. You know it's going to be derivative, you know it's going to be predictable; but is it going to be awesome? I've been to the arena, and I know the truth.

Mar 9, 2012

John Carter

This is the One Minute Review of Disney's John Carter. From the great director of Wall-E, Finding Nemo, and Toy Story comes Andrew Stanton's first "real life" picture. Based on the trailers, I thought this film could go either way. Which way did it go? The OMR will let you know.

Mar 8, 2012

Safe House

This is the One Minute Review of Safe House. I made it especially for Jason E., who won the big contest at facebook.com/oneminutereview. Enjoy!

Mar 7, 2012

The Secret World of Arrietty

Hiromasa Yonebayashi returns to the U.S. with The Secret World of Arrietty. Looks lovely, but is it worth seeing?

Feb 14, 2012

Chronicle

Chronicle is a movie that could easily fly under the radar. All I could tell from the trailer was that stuff flies around and someone is really worried about Andrew. Is it any more than that? The One Minute Review knows for sure.

Jan 27, 2012

The Grey

The Grey is one of those films that could really go either way. It stars Liam Neeson, which is good. The trailer makes it look pretty cool. But it comes from the guy who made the recent A-Team movie, which does not bode well. Is it a throw-away action film, or is there some substance there? Luckily, the One Minute Review has the answers.

Jan 20, 2012

The Artist

A black and white silent film? Didn't we stop making those for a reason? What good could come out of that? Watch the One Minute Review to find out.

Jan 8, 2012

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. The classic spy novel gets a modern version with an amazing cast. Will this thriller thrill you? Find out.

Jan 1, 2012

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

The sequel to Robert Downey Jr.'s Sherlock Holmes has received pretty bad reviews. Is it worth watching, or has all the fun run out at 331B Baker Street? The One Minute Review has the answer to this mystery.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is the "feel bad movie of the season." But is it a bad movie? Or are the bad parts bad enough to make you stay away? Watch the OMR to find out.