Welcome


This is the One Minute Review!


Father Thomas McKenzie has retired from the One Minute Review, but you can still watch all his reviews right here. No spoilers, and no babbling on and on. Just a quick, entertaining, and honest assessment from a guy who loves movies and knows what to look for. About to download a movie? Let the One Minute Review save you some time and money.

Dec 31, 2013

Inside Llewyn Davis

The Coen Brothers are back, and a star is born. Or not?


One Minute Review: Inside Llewyn Davis from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nebraska

This is the One Minute Review of the award winning film "Nebraska." You have probably not heard of it, but you should have. And, for those of you keeping score, this is the first time I've ever recorded, edited, and published a review from an iPad. Enjoy!

One Minute Review: Nebraska from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Dec 27, 2013

The Wolf of Wall Street

Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio team up for a Goodfellas inspired take on the Wall Street of the 80s and 90s. Sounds fantastic! So why did I walk out about halfway through? Find out.

One Minute Review: The Wolf of Wall Street from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Dec 22, 2013

Dec 20, 2013

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

We return, once again, to Middle Earth. This time, we meet Legolas, Kate from Lost, and a Dragon voiced by Sherlock Holmes. Is the second in this three part Hobbit series worth the trip? Find out.


One Minute Review: The Hobbit, the Desolation of Smaug from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 28, 2013

Dallas Buyer's Club

This is the One Minute Review of Dallas Buyer's Club. Cowboys, AIDS, the FDA, and one seriously malnourished Matthew McConaughey. What more could you want?


One Minute Review: Dallas Buyer's Club from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 25, 2013

All is Lost

An Old Man and the Sea. And a Series of Very Unfortunate Events. Worth seeing? Find out.


One Minute Review: All is Lost from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 24, 2013

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

Fr. Thomas McKenzie returns to Panem for the Hunger Games: Catching Fire.  Should you go see it, or will you just get burned?


Catching Fire from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 12, 2013

12 Years a Slave

This is the One Minute Review of Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave.  Featuring a stellar cast, terrific directing and editing, and a nearly Shakespearean script, let's spoil the review right now: best film of the year so far. If only for the superb acting of Chiwetel Ejiofor and newcomer Lupita Nyong'o, this is the movie that could take home the most statuettes on Oscar night.



One Minute Review: 12 Years a Slave from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 10, 2013

Thor: The Dark World

This is the One Minute Review of Thor: The Dark World. Gods and aliens walk among us once again. Who knew Earth was so popular? Does Thor bring the magic back to "The Dark World," or should he just have stayed in Asgard? Thomas has an opinion, as usual.



One Minute Review: Thor, The Dark World from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 8, 2013

Ender's Game

This is the One Minute Review of Ender's Game. A splendid anti-war novel becomes a big-budget sci-fi action film. How does that work out? The question may answer itself.


One Minute Review: Ender's Game from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 7, 2013

The Counselor

The great American novelist Cormac McCarthy has written his first screenplay. Directed by Ridley Scott and starring some amazing actors, how can this film go wrong? Fr. Thomas McKenzie has the answer...



One Minute Review: The Counselor from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Oct 29, 2013

Captain Phillips

Captain Phillips was terrorized, beaten and kidnapped. Then they made a movie about him. Will it make you feel terrorized, or elated, or both? The OMR knows ...



One Minute Review: Captain Phillips from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Oct 6, 2013

Gravity

This is the One Minute Review of Alfonso Cuaron's latest film, Gravity. Are you ready to get lost in space?



One Minute Review: Gravity from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Rush

The new film from Ron Howard has a terrible title, but is it worth seeing?  This is the One Minute Review of RUSH.





One Minute Review: Rush from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Sep 16, 2013

One Minute Review: Three Good Movies

September is a terrible month for movies. The summer blockbusters are all out, and the studios are waiting for awards season to release their best films. In the midst of that, Thomas reviews three small films that are worth your time: Blue Jasmine, In a World, and The Grandmaster.  



One Minute Review: Three Films Worth Seeing from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 31, 2013

Kick A** 2

This is my One Minute Review of Kick A** 2. This review is only one minute long.  For good reason.


 
One Minute Review: Kick A** 2 from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 29, 2013

The World's End

This is the One Minute Review of "The World's End." Simon Pegg and Company bring us the third in a sort-of trilogy of genre send-up movies. Does the Hot Fuzz/Shaun of the Dead magic endure, or have we come to comedy's end? Thomas McKenzie has an opinion, and he's happy to share.


One Minute Review: The World's End from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 17, 2013

Elysium

In the future, Matt Damon will fly to a space station for medical treatment. Unless Jodi Foster can stop him from getting to Elysium. This is the One MInute Review.



One Minute Review: Elysium from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 16, 2013

The Wolverine

The adamantium hand blades are coming out as Fr. Thomas McKenzie reviews "The Wolverine." 



One Minute Review: The Wolverine from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 15, 2013

World War Z

This is Thomas McKenzie's One Minute Review of World War Z. Zombies attack the earth! Who will save us? Oh, yeah, Brad Pitt.


One Minute Review: World War Z from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 16, 2013

Much Ado About Nothing

It's Shakespeare, so at least you know the script is good. But a small film, shot in black and white, in some dude's house? Seriously? Why would anyone see a film about nothing? Find out.


One Minute Review: Much Ado about Nothing from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 15, 2013

Monster's University

Pixar's monsters are back, in time, in a prequel. Is the Pixar magic back, or are we looking at the end of the road?




One Minute Review: Monsters University from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 12, 2013

Pacific Rim

If you're like me, you saw the ad for this movie and said "why would I even bother?"  Well, I bothered.  I saw Pacific Rim, and I can tell you if you should, too.



One Minute Review: Pacific Rim from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.


Jun 21, 2013

Jun 16, 2013

Man of Steel

The first time I saw a trailer for Man of Steel, I was thrilled.  Superman gets the Dark Knight treatment?  Sounded awesome.  Now that I've seen the movie, I'll tell you how amazing it really is.  


One Minute Review: Man of Steel from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 23, 2013

Star Trek: Into Darkness

J.J. Abrams rebooted Star Trek is back with Into Darkness. Star Trek fan Thomas McKenzie assess the Darkness and lets you know if it's worth stepping into.


One Minute Review: Star Trek: Into Darkness from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 14, 2013

Iron Man 3


Robert Downey Jr. is back for his fourth go as Iron Man (including the Avengers movie). You'll probably see it no matter what Thomas says, but you might as well get an honest review.


One Minute Review: Iron Man 3 from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 13, 2013

Mud

This is the One Minute Review of "Mud."

The phrase "Matthew McConaughey's latest film" doesn't always inspire confidence in me. This time I went to see it anyway. Here's what I found.


One Minute Review: Mud from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 12, 2013

The Great Gatsby

Baz Luhrmann brings his unique sensibility to one of the Great American Novels. Does he bring Gatsby to life, or suck the life right out of it? The One Minute Review knows.


One Minute Review: The Great Gatsby from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Apr 24, 2013

The Place Beyond the Pines

This is the One Minute Review of the Ryan Gosling / Bradley Cooper cop and robber flick The Place Beyond the Pines.  Check it out.




One Minute Review: The Place Beyond the Pines from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Apr 23, 2013

Oblivion

Tom Cruise: 50 years old and still shooting at aliens. So how's the old man doing?  Check out the OMR of Oblivion.




One Minute Review: Oblivion from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Apr 13, 2013

42

The Jackie Robinson biopic "42" is out in theaters. Looks inspiring. Is it? Is it more?



One Minute Review: 42 from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Mar 26, 2013

Mar 25, 2013

Side Effects


Soderbergh! This film was made by Steven Soderbergh! He's awesome! Awesome enough to overcome that Made-for-TV looking trailer? Find out.


One Minute Review: Side Effects from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Stoker

This is the One Minute Review of Stoker. Shot in Nashville, this is Chan Wook Park's first English language film. It looks odd and eerie. Is it worth sitting through?


One Minute Review: Stoker from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Mar 11, 2013

Oz, The Great and Powerful

It's March.  Studios are only releasing crappy movies (witness: Die Hard 5).  If you go to the theater, you have your choice of a) Oscar Winners or b) garbage.  Having seen all the Oscar winners, I've been a sad man.  But then: OZ!  Disney starts 2013 off with a huge, amazing, wondrous official prequel to The Wizard of Oz.  It has James Franco and three terrific leading ladies (OK, two terrific leading ladies and one girl named Mila something).  I took the kids on opening day, and this is what I found:


One Minute Review: OZ The Great and Powerful from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Feb 16, 2013

Best Picture Round Up

The Academy Awards will be given on February 24th.  If you haven't seen all NINE movies nominated for Best Picture, it isn't likely you'll get a chance.  That's around 25 hours of film, after all.

Instead of seeing nine films, why not watch nine One Minute Reviews?  That way, you may not have seen a few of the movies on Oscar night, but at least you'll have a vague opinion about them!  (But watch out, people who love Les Mis may not enjoy your company if you agree with me).

The films nominated for Best Picture are:

  1. Amour - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2013/02/amour.html
  2. Argo - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/10/argo.html
  3. Beasts of the Southern Wild - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/08/beasts-of-southern-wild.html
  4. Django Unchained - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2013/01/django-unchained.html
  5. Les Misérables - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/12/les-miserables.html
  6. Life of Pi - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/12/life-of-pi.html
  7. Lincoln - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/11/lincoln.html
  8. Silver Linings Playbook - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2013/01/silver-linings-playbook.html
  9. Zero Dark Thirty - http://www.oneminutereview.com/2013/01/zero-dark-thirty.html
The Academy can nominate up to ten movies for Best Picture.  You'll notice that there are only nine this year.  The one movie that was most obviously NOT nominated was The Master.  Even though the Master has three acting nominations and comes from the amazing P.T. Anderson, it's seen as an attack on Scientology.  Scientology, as you probably know, has some influence in Hollywood.  My review of The Master, certainly one of the best films of the year, can be found here: http://www.oneminutereview.com/2012/09/the-master.html


Feb 15, 2013

Amour

This is my review of Amour. A French film about old people dying. Who wouldn't love that?



One Minute Review: Amour from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Feb 12, 2013

Warm Bodies

This is Fr. Thomas McKenzie's review of Warm Bodies.  Zombies and romance?  Can that possibly work?   The One Minute Review has the answer.


One Minute Review: Warm Bodies from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 30, 2013

Gangster Squad

Ryan Gosling and Tommy Guns? Who could ask for more? This is the One Minute Review of "Gangster Squad." Worth watching? Or worth gunning down from your Ford Fairlane as you drive-by?



One Minute Review: Gangster Squad from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 29, 2013

Broken City


A stellar cast and an unknown script writer come together in this "thriller" set in NYC. Should you see it? Maybe those quotation marks around "thriller" provide a clue. Watch the One Minute Review to know for sure.



One Minute Review: Broken City from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 26, 2013

Zero Dark Thirty

Because Django Unchained wasn't controversial enough, the One Minute Review is back with Zero Dark Thirty.  You've probably heard of it, but should you bother to see it?  Find out.



One Minute Review: Zero Dark Thirty from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 10, 2013

Django Unchained

Join the One Minute Review as we return to the Ante-bellum Old West in Tarantino's fable of a hero who will go through hell to rescue the woman he loves.



One Minute Review: Django Unchained from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 4, 2013

My Favorite Ten Films of 2012

I saw a lot of movies in 2012, and reviewed most of them. Looking back at the films I saw in the theater over the past year, I've come up with my top ten. I am not claiming these are all Academy Award worthy masterpieces. I'm just saying that these are the ones I most enjoyed.

If you want to know what I thought of any of these films, you can search for my reviews at
www.OneMinuteReview.com, ThomasMcKenzie.com, or facebook.com/oneminutereview.

Two caveats. First, I Zero Dark Thirty has not been released in Nashville yet.  Second, I did not include Blue Like Jazz because I am too personally invested in it. If you haven't seen it, you should.

My Top Ten
  1. The Master
  2. Life of Pi
  3. Django Unchained
  4. Moonrise Kingdom
  5. Skyfall
  6. Looper
  7. The Grey
  8. The Dark Knight Rises
  9. Argo
  10. Brave
The award for worst film of the year goes to Sacha Baron Cohen's profoundly stupid "The Dictator."  

Jan 3, 2013

Silver Linings Playbook


This is the One Minute Review of "Silver Linings Playbook, the psycho-drama-romantic-comedy-dance-off that may or may not have redeemed Bradley Cooper in my eyes. Have fun, and take your medication.



One Minute Review: Silver Linings Playbook from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.