Welcome


This is the One Minute Review!


Father Thomas McKenzie has retired from the One Minute Review, but you can still watch all his reviews right here. No spoilers, and no babbling on and on. Just a quick, entertaining, and honest assessment from a guy who loves movies and knows what to look for. About to download a movie? Let the One Minute Review save you some time and money.

Nov 27, 2014

Rosewater

Jon Stewart's directorial debut is definitely not a comedy. The story of a journalist arrested and tortured for his reporting in Iran. This is the One Minute Review of Rosewater.


One Minute Review: Rosewater from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 26, 2014

Mockingjay, Part One

The Hunger Games 3, I mean Mockingjay Part 1. Is it a legit movie, or just a money grab?


Nov 25, 2014

Nightcrawler

Jack Gyllenhaal has put a Nightcrawler on his hook. Will you take the Oscar bait?


One Minute Review: Nightcrawler from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jack Gyllenhaal has put a Nightcrawler on his hook. Will you take the Oscar bait?

For more, go to www.OneMinuteReview.com

Nov 24, 2014

Gone Girl

Four Reviews in Four Days begins now, with David Fincher's Gone Girl. Here we go:


One Minute Review: Gone Girl from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Nov 14, 2014

Interstellar

Christopher Nolan is back with what he hopes to be his masterpiece, the science fiction epic Interstellar. Does it soar, or disappear into a black hole? The One Minute Review knows. For more, go to facebook.com/OneMinuteReview





Oct 24, 2014

FURY


Are you saved? 
I was baptized.
That’s not what he asked.

The new old-school war movie, Fury, addresses salvation. What is it, how does one get it, and why do some people not get it. Most importantly, what’s our role? Do the questions get answered? Watch the One Minute Review for more.


One Minute Review: FURY from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Are you saved?
I was baptized.
That’s not what he asked.

The new old-school war movie, Fury, addresses salvation. What is it, how does one get it, and why do some people not get it. Most importantly, what’s our role? Do the questions get answered? Watch the One Minute Review for more.

Sep 8, 2014

Calvary

My review of Calvary, an indie film with Brendan Gleeson, and the best movie I've seen all year.


One Minute Review: Calvary from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Magic in the Moonlight

Woody Allen has been on a tear recently, making some really excellent movies. Could Magic in the Moonlight, with a stellar cast, be part of the same trend?



One Minute Review: Magic in the Moonlight from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.


Aug 30, 2014

Boyhood

Shot with the same actors over 13 years, we watch a family, and especially one boy, grow and change. A young life lived in 3 hours. Worth your time?


The One Minute Review of Boyhood from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 20, 2014

The Giver

The world was so black and white, until I saw the Giver. Now it's just pretty gray. And boring. Oh, just watch the review.



One Minute Review: The Giver from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 15, 2014

A Most Wanted Man

Philip Seymour Hoffman's last starring role. Please tell me it was terrible. Please tell me he was on his way downhill as an actor. Please tell me we aren't going to miss his genius. Sorry, I can't tell you that. Quite the opposite.


One Minute Review: A Most Wanted Man from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Aug 14, 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy

What the heck is a "guardian of the galaxy" I ask myself. Where's Spiderman, or Capt. America, or Wolverine? What kind of superhero movie is this? What kind? The awesome kind...



One Minute Review: Guardians of the Galaxy from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Lucy

Will it take 100% of your brain to enjoy/understand ScarJo's latest, "Lucy." GIve me a minute or two, and I'll let you know.



One Minute Review: Lucy from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 25, 2014

Snowpiercer

A South Korean filmmaker, a bizarre plot, Tilda Swinton with cartoonish teeth, and cannibalism. What could go wrong? Well, not much.


One Minute Review: Snowpiercer from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jul 22, 2014

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Andy Serkis is back, covered in CGI fur, and doing an amazing job. A simple plot, emotional storytelling, and solid directing make this film one to see.


One Minute Review: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Safety Not Guaranteed

A little independent film. I missed in it theaters, but caught up with it on Netflix. Yes, some course language and some offensive behavior. But, on the whole, a sweet, meaningful, and enjoyable film.


One Minute Review: Safety Not Guaranteed from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jun 10, 2014

Edge of Tomorrow

Tom Cruise is 52 years old, and he's the action hero of another Sci FI movie. Do we really want to see this? Uhmm, actually ... just watch the One Minute Review.


One Minute Review: The Edge of Tomorrow from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 31, 2014

X-Men: Days of Future Past

The last time Patrick Stewart was involved in a franchise handing-off time-bending movie, it didn't go so well (see: Star Trek, Generations). However, he didn't have Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Fassbender, Bryan Singer, Wolverine, Quicksilver, or even a South Pole Elf to back him up. How do things go this time? Let the One Minute Review be your guide.


One Minute Review: X-Men, Days of Future Past from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

May 5, 2014

"Amazing" Spiderman 2

This is the One Minute Review of the "Amazing" Spiderman 2, Andrew Garfield's second turn as your friendly neighborhood wall-crawler. Spoiler Alert: Go see Captain America, the Winter Soldier instead.


One Minute Review Amazing Spiderman Two from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Transcendence

Johnny Depp does it again. What is it he does? Makes a bad movie.


One Minute Review Transcendence from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Mar 29, 2014

Noah

Darren Aronofsky's Noah is in theaters. Controversy abounds, but is the movie any good?



One Minute Review: Noah from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Mar 27, 2014

Mar 20, 2014

I talk to Christian Pastors about Movies

My friend Ed Stetzer has a webshow, which he does for LifeWay. It has an audience made up of mainly Evangelical pastors. Ed is a cool guy with good stuff to say, much of which you can find on his blog at www.edstetzer.com

A couple of weeks ago, he made the huge mistake of interviewing me about Church, movies, and the One Minute Review. So, if you want to see me and Ed talk movies for an hour (and who doesn't?), check it out:


Hollywood and Christianity - #TheExchange from Ed Stetzer on Vimeo.

Mar 6, 2014

Non-Stop

This is Fr. Thomas McKenzie's review of the Liam Neeson thriller Non-Stop. What more do you really need to know?



OMR Non Stop from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Mar 5, 2014

The Lego Movie

Batman, Superman, Han Solo, Gandalf, and the Generic Space Man. How can this movie possibly go wrong?


One Minute Review: The Lego Movie from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.



Mar 4, 2014

Son of God

My friend Ed Stetzer wanted me to come on his show The Exchange and talk about the movie Son of God. So, I saw the movie. Here is my longest review ever.

If you're the kind of person who can only hear good things about a Christian movie, please don't watch this review. It will only cause you to sin.



One Minute Review: Son Of God from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.


Feb 14, 2014

RoboCop

A RoboCop reboot? Seriously? With some unknown guy in the lead? Is it garbage, or something worth seeing? Watch the One Minute Review to find out.


One Minute Review Robocop from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Monuments Men

A stellar cast + a great story + Nazis = one of the best movies of the year? Maybe. Or maybe not. Watch the One Minute Review of Monuments Men to find out.


One Minute Review: Monuments Men from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 27, 2014

Her


Science fiction is relevant again? Don't believe me, check out all four minutes of the one minute review of Her.


One Minute Review: Her from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 26, 2014

Frozen

Thomas takes a break from the OMR, leaving "Frozen" to the amazing reviewing skills of Ella McKenzie.



One Minute Review: Frozen from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Lone Survivor

Lone Survivor is based on the true story of a SEAL team mission that went very wrong. Did the movie go very wrong, or is it worth surviving? Fr. Thomas knows.


One Minute Review: Lone Survivor from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.

Jan 2, 2014

American Hustle

Con-men gone wild! The collapse of American economics and morality in a previous decade! Gangsters, politicians, and loose women! Is it the Wolf of Wall Street? Nope, it's way better. This is the One Minute Review of the movie Martin Scorsese is no longer capable of making, American Hustle.



One Minute Review: American Hustle from Thomas McKenzie on Vimeo.